Northwest Iowa Community College

Northwest Iowa Community College

Dr. Alethea Stubbe

603 West Park St.

Sheldon, IA 51201

Established in 1966, NCC was the pilot project for Iowa’s Community College System. At first the College offered three vocational programs to students representing 20 high schools in Lyon, O’Brien, Osceola and Sioux counties. On February 10, 1971, Merged Area IV was expanded when two community districts in Cherokee County requested that they be included with the area.

The North Central Association of Colleges and Schools granted candidacy for accreditation status in 1976 and accreditation status in 1980, which was expanded in 1988 to include the Associate of Arts and Science programs implemented in the fall of 1988. The College received 10 years of accreditation in 1994 and again in 2004.